LIFE LATELY 08: Competing with Time

DSC_0020

I didn’t know that I’ve been competing with time for the past 7 years. Competing with everyone isn’t healthy choice. For the past years, I was struggling and now, I’ve learned to let go of the feeling of competing.

Humans are competitive beings – that is our nature, however, I feel like I’ve been into an endless battle with all the insecurities around me, I always feel like the underdog, I haven’t been truly happy with my life for the past years. If I could go back in time, I would like to go back to my childhood – where life seem so simple and easy, it is when all things seemed to have value and satisfaction isn’t the problem. I’ve been always dreaming of that life! I want to go back then, but I know that I can’t.

In the past weeks, I came to realize that the burden on my shoulders are gone, I learned that focusing on your own ways and strategies is the best thing. Doing all those things that I’m passionate about without any restrictions is my safe haven, my garden of Eden, my paradise. It seemed that for the last 7 years, I became a slave of the views of the society, I always care about what others are going to say about me, I care less about what I really want to do, I let the society decide for me and I do not make decisions for myself, I always want to go with the trend – with the flow, I’m afraid to go against the current, I don’t want to be stubborn because I don’t want to be judged. It feels like I am a prisoner living my life like a lie, but now, I know better, to always prioritize the things that matters to me, and care less about the other people’s point of view as long as I do what is right and good. I don’t care about being unique nor care about being their laughing stock because I know that in my heart, I have these dreams that I want to make happen.

And for that, I think that someone – like me, shouldn’t be afraid to step up and go for the game, besides, being independent is not a bad thing, but a good source of foundation towards growth. Let insecurities subside and make the strengths grow roots in the soil of your heart, learn how to care for others and not to care about others, trying new and unique stuff may be associated with a lot of risks, but those risks are the flavors that give life its meaning and adventure, without it, life is boring, so just think of it as an additional challenge to take, just enjoy and indulge each and every taste of life – sweet, sour, salty, or even bitter.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

